The International Board on Books for Young People (IBBY) in Basel, Switzerland presents the awards to a living author and illustrator whose complete works have made a lasting contribution to children’s literature.

Hassanzadeh has authored over 80 books, including “The Backyard”, “The 7th Bench by the Lake”, “Bambak’s Scorpions”, “Watermelon with Love” and “Call Me Ziba”.

Shafiei has illustrated many books including “Iron Shoes” written by Farideh Khalatbari, “Shahrzad” written by Farideh Khalatbari, “Zarbal” by Jamaleddin Akrami, “My Tales” by Marjan Keshavarzi Azad and “Farshid” by Mahdokht Kashkuli.

Junko Yokota, a professor of children’s literature from the U.S., will preside over the jury of the 2020 Hans Christian Andersen Award.

The members are Mariella Bertelli from Canada, Denis Beznosov from Russia, Tina Bilban from Slovenia, Yasuko Doi from Japan, Nadia El Kholy from Egypt, Viviane Ezratty from France, Eva Kaliskami from Greece, Robin Morrow from Australia, Cecilia Ana Repetti from Argentina and Ulla Rhedin from Sweden.