The Kazan festival jury also includes Hamid Benamra from Algeria, Anara Kashaganova from Kazakhstan, Amer Salmeen Al Murri from the UAE, Haobam Paban Kumar from India, Ihsan Kabil from Turkey and Elham Shahin from Egypt.

In addition, Russian filmmaker Valery Fomin and the rector of Tatarstan’s Russian Islamic University, Rafik Mukhametshin, will join the jury of the 18th edition of the festival, which will take place from September 7 to 11 in the capital of Tatarstan, a semi-autonomous region in southwest Russia.

The Iranian movies “Silent Glory”, “Boars”, “No One Is Waiting for You” and “Nomad Girl” will be competing in various sections of the festival.

The Kazan festival also plans to review Iranian cinema in a special program entitled “Iranian Cinema Day”.

The program is scheduled to screen “That Night’s Train” by Hamidreza Qotbi, “When the Moon Was Full” by Abyar, and “Wolf Cubs of the Apple Valley” by Fereidun Najaf.

In addition, the Iranian films “Yalda, the Night of Forgiveness” by Masud Bakhshi and “Balit” by Morteza Rahimi will be screened in the festival’s non-competition program.