-The 79th Golden Globe Awards honored the best in film and American television of 2021, as chosen by the Hollywood Foreign Press. The nominations were announced on December 13, 2021 by rapper Snoop Dogg and HFPA president Helen Hoehne.

“The Power of the Dog” (Netflix) won best drama and “West Side Story” (20th Century/Disney) nabbed best musical or comedy. Jane Campion picked up the best director trophy for helming “The Power of the Dog,” and Kodi Smit-McPhee won best supporting actor for the western. “West Side Story” star Rachel Zegler was named best actress in a musical or comedy, and her co-star Ariana DeBose took home the supporting actress prize.

Nicole Kidman (“Being the Ricardos”) won best actress in a drama, while Will Smith (“King Richard”) nabbed actor. Andrew Garfield (“Tick, Tick … Boom!”) took home best actor in a musical or comedy.

For TV, “Succession” won best drama series and “Hacks” won best musical or comedy series, both from HBO. “Succession” star Jeremy Strong was named best actor in a drama and co-star Sarah Snook picked up best supporting actress. “Hacks” star Jean Smart earned best actress in a musical or comedy. Michaela Jaé Rodriguez (“Pose”) won best actress in a drama, and Jason Sudeikis (“Ted Lasso”) took home best actor in a musical or comedy.

Here’s the full winners list:

Jane Campion's “The Power of the Dog” took home the top honor at Sunday's Golden Globe Awards,

Best picture, drama: “The Power of the Dog”

Best picture, musical or comedy: “West Side Story”

Best actress, drama: Nicole Kidman, “Being the Ricardos”

Best actor, drama: Will Smith, “King Richard”

Best actress, musical or comedy: Rachel Zegler, “West Side Story”

Best actor, musical or comedy: Andrew Garfield, “tick, tick…Boom!”

Supporting actress: Ariana DeBose, “West Side Story”

Supporting Actor: Kodi Smit-McPhee, “The Power of the Dog”

Animated: “Encanto”

Non-English Language: “Drive My Car,” Japan

Screenplay: Kenneth Branagh, “Belfast”

Director: Jane Campion, “The Power of the Dog”

Original song: “No Time to Die,” Billie Eilish

Original score: Hans Zimmer, “Dune”


Drama series: “Succession”

Comedy series: “Hacks”

Limited Series: “The Underground Railroad.”

Actress, drama series: Michaela Jaé Rodriguez, “Pose”

Actor, drama series: Jeremy Strong, “Succession”

Actress, comedy or musical series: Jean Smart, “Hacks.”

Actor, comedy or musical series: Jason Sudeikis, “Ted Lasso”


Source: Varitey