The director of the festival Masoud Naqqashzadeh announced the selection committee members as Behrouz Afkhami, writer and director, Esmaeil Bani-Ardalan, university professor, Pouran Derakhshandeh, female filmmaker, and Hossein Zandbaf, film editor, producer and director.

Majid Shah-Hosseini, university professor and researcher, Esfandiar Shahidi, cinematographer and filmmaker, and Mohammad-Hossein Nirumand, executive director, are also among the members of the board.

The 40th FFF will take place from February 1-11, 2022, commemorating the anniversary of the 1979 Islamic Revolution.

The international version of the event will be held later in 2022.

As of next year, the Fajr Film Festival and Fajr International Film Festival will be merged into one event, after five editions in which they were held separately, said the head of Cinema Organization of Iran.

The festival was established in 1982, and since 2015 the international section of the festival has been held separately from its national counterpart, said Mohammad Khazaei.

Khazaei said that holding the two events at the same time will provide opportunities for the country’s cinema industry and its international supporters.

The official added that the new administration aims to increase intercultural dialogue, cultural exchanges, and strengthen international presence.

Since its establishment, the festival has played a vital role in the development of Iranian cinema. Every year, veteran directors and new filmmakers devotedly present their works in the gathering. It is widely considered one of the most prestigious and influential in Asia, Europe and the Middle East.

Source: Iran Daily