Co-directed by Marc James Roels and Emma De Swaef, the story of the film is set in colonial Africa in the late 19th century. The anthology film tells the stories of five different characters, including a troubled king, a middle-aged Pygmy working in a luxury hotel, a failed businessman on an expedition, a lost porter and a young army deserter.

The closing ceremony of the event was organized at the Institute for Intellectual Development of Children and Young Adults (IIDCYA), where Am I a Wolf? by Iranian animator Amir-Hushang Moein selected as a runner-up.

The award for third best movie went to Peripheria by David Coquard-Dassault from France.

Patchwork Pals by German director Angela Steffen won the award for best children’s film, while My Little Goat by Tomoki Misato from Japan received the award for the best student animation.

The award for the best TV production went to One Thousand Myths co-directed by Asghar Saffar and Abbas Jalali Yekta from Iran, and 9 Ways to Draw a Person by Sasha Svirsky from Russia won the award for the best experimental animation.

The acclaimed Iranian animation The Last Fiction by Ashkan Rahgozar won the award for best feature-length movie, while Wicked Girl, a co-production between France and Turkey by Turkish director Ayce Kartal, received the special jury prize.

The Blissful Accidental Death by Sergiu Negulici from Romania received the award for best artistic and technical achievement, and the CIFEJ Prize was presented to Trunky by Ekaterina Filippova from Russia.

In the national section, Fox by Sadeq Javadi was picked as best animation.

The film is about a young fox on the verge of experiencing the first love. Meanwhile, it gets trapped by a hunter. Thus begins the fox’s effort to survive and love, and seek revenge.

Am I a Wolf? was selected as second best film and Maned and Macho by Shiva Sadeq-Asadi won the award for best third movie.

The special jury award was presented to Eaten by Mohsen Rezapur.

Veteran Iranian film scholar Akbar Alami also was honored for his lifetime achievements during the ceremony.

Source: Tehran Times